Congratulations to our National Merit Scholars!
    October 15, 2018
    Congratulations to our National Merit Scholars!

    Jason Gorney, Lawrence North, was named a National Merit Semi-finalist and will continue on in the
    scholarship competition.

    Lawrence North students Sami Coffman, Rachael Hinshaw and Jessie Miller and Lawrence Central student Alex Butrum-Griffith were named as Commended Scholars--an impressive achievement in a competitive scholarship program.
    Jason Gorney    
    Jessie Miller Sami Coffman Rachael Hinshaw Alex Butrum-Griffith

    The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition for recognition and scholarships that is open to all U.S. high school students who meet the published entry requirements.  The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit organization established in 1955 that operates without government assistance.  Semifinalists named in each year’s Merit Scholarship competition show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  Those who meet the requirements to advance to the Finalist level compete for National Merit Scholarships supported by independent sponsor organizations and by NMSC’s own funds.  Currently, about half of the Finalists are chosen as award recipients and honored as Merit Scholar designees.

    Back to Announcements