Board Elections

Roles and Responsibilities of the Board (Board Policy 0171, 0171.1, 0171.2, 0171.3, 0171.4)

0171.1 President 
The President of the School Board shall:  
A. preside at meetings of the Board;  
B. have the same right as other members to offer resolutions, to make motions or second motions, to discuss questions, and to vote thereon.


0171.2 Vice-President  
The Vice-President of the School Board shall:  
A. preside at meetings of the Board when the President is not able to attend;  
B. in case of a vacancy in the office of President, succeed to the office of President for the balance of the unexpired term.


0171.3 Secretary 
The Secretary of the School Board shall:  
A. act as clerk at meetings of the Board;  
B. record and sign the minutes of meetings, orders, resolutions, and other proceedings of the Board in proper record books.


0171.4 Treasurer
The School Board shall appoint a person, other than the Superintendent or a member of the Board, to serve as treasurer of the Corporation.

The Treasurer shall be the official custodian of all funds of the Corporation and shall be responsible for the proper safeguarding and accounting for all such funds.

In addition, the Treasurer shall issue a receipt for all funds coming into his/her hands as well as deposit money and issue all warrants in accordance with law.

The Treasurer may also transact Corporation financial business through the use of electronic funds transfer.

The Treasurer may, with the approval of the Board, delegate the regular duties associated with his/her responsibility to a deputy, providing that person is not the Superintendent or a member of the Board.


Number of Members and Terms of Office (Board Policy 0141, 0142.1)

There shall be five (5) members on the Board of Education of the MSD of Lawrence Township. Each regularly elected member will serve a four (4) year term commencing on January 1. Election will normally occur in the November general election.  Membership on the Board shall be such that there is at least one (1) member from each of the three (3) Board member districts and two (2) members serving at-large.

Board Member District Boundaries (Board Policy 0113.1)

The Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township, Marion County, Indiana, is divided in to three (3) Board Member Districts. Descriptions of such districts were certified by the Indiana State Board of Education on December 5, 2001.